License Requirements


How to Renew an Ohio Insurance License

How to Renew an Ohio Insurance License

Updated: 7/8/2022

A.D. Banker Provider #: 1171

Get Started

On this page, you’ll find a comprehensive guide to renewing your Ohio insurance license. At A.D. Banker & Company, we’re here to walk you through the process and make completing your continuing education requirements as easy and painless as possible.

We offer several different study methods to cater to your needs and help you grow as an insurance professional. Whether you’re interested in learning the latest topics in insurance CE webinars, or having unlimited access to our online CE courses, we strive to provide options that fit around your busy schedule. Each of our courses are designed to not only be straightforward and simple, but also valuable to your career.

To begin the renewal process, you will need to complete 3 steps listed below.

1. Review the State Requirements

The first step to renewing your insurance license is to review Ohio’s CE requirements. Depending on which lines of insurance you’re licensed in, the continuing education hours you’re required to complete will vary. All hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.

General Requirements

How many total hours of CE do I need to complete?
Producers and Adjusters are required to complete 24 total hours every 2 years.

What courses can I take to satisfy my total hour requirement?
Licensees may take courses in any line of authority. However, agents must complete 3 hours approved as Ethics as part of the total 24-hour requirement.

When is the renewal date for my insurance license?
The renewal date occurs every 2 years on the last day of your birth month. 
 
Do extra hours completed in a previous CE period carry over?
The state of Ohio allows excess continuing education hours to be carried over into the next renewal period. Resident agents who hold a Major Lines License may carry over up to 12 hours. Excess hours in ethics or speciality training can carry over to the next renewal period; however, those hours will only be counted as general credits, and will not be counted to fulfill the ethics requirement. Education requirements for ethics and specialty training must be completed during every renewal period. Hours must be completed before the expiration date, or they do not carry forward.

Can I repeat Continuing Education courses for credit? 
No, you may not repeat courses for credit in the same renewal period.

Am I exempt from Continuing Education?
The following individuals are exempt from completing CE requirements:

  • Nonresidents
  • Licensees who have been granted inactive status
  • Licensees with a limited authority license

 

Life & Health Producer Product-specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell annuities? 
Resident and non-resident agents must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Ohio. 

Annuity best interest training courses completed in any other state that has adopted the NAIC 2020 Annuity Model Law updates reciprocate with the Ohio requirement.

What are the requirements to sell long-term care products?
Agents licensed in Accident & Health or Sickness must complete 8 hours of initial Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training before selling, soliciting or negotiating Long-Term Care (LTC) products. After completing the initial requirement, agents must complete a 4-hour ongoing LTC training, due every renewal thereafter. 

Property & Casualty Producers Product-specific Requirements

Prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating the following products, you’re required to complete initial certification training. These training hours can be applied towards the total hours needed to renew your license.

What are the requirements to sell flood insurance?
Property/Casualty and Personal Lines agents must complete a one-time 3-hour NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training course for their first license renewal compliance period.

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you are ready to choose and register for insurance continuing education courses. You may complete your hours through webinars, online courses, or any combination thereof. These options allow you to decide how to best fit your continuing education into your existing schedule.

Each course is listed with an associated credit type. You must select courses that have the appropriate credit types for fulfilling the renewal requirements for your license.

Webinars: Completion is based on attendance and participation. You must be present for the full duration of the course, and you must be active throughout to receive credit. There is no certification exam required. 

Online courses: Completion is self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the review questions at the end of each section to receive credit. Online courses do not require a final exam. 

A.D. Banker will report your completed hours to the Ohio Department of Insurance within 1 business day.

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have completed your courses and satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you will need to file a renewal application. The online application will guide you through the renewal process. Upon successful renewal, your licensing record will be updated on the Ohio Department of Insurance website, and your renewed license can be immediately obtained using the state’s Agent/Agency Locator.

We’re Here to Help

Ready to start fulfilling your continuing education requirements? Get started online now or call A.D. Banker’s direct enrollment line at 1-(800)-866-2468. Courses can be completed online and through live webinars. A.D. Banker’s customer care team is available to assist with any questions and create a course plan for you. 

Course completions are automatically reported daily and are approved to satisfy LTC, AML, Annuity Suitability, Flood, Ethics, and other state-specific requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I find my license number?
To find your license number and other additional details relating to your license, use Ohio’s Agent/Agency Locator.

How do I print my license?
Your license can be printed online through the state Agent/Agency Locator.

How do I view my Continuing Education (CE) transcript?
You can view your CE transcript with the Agent/Agency Locator.

What do I need to have with me when I’m renewing my license?
When you are ready to renew your license online, you should gather the following items to ensure the smoothest process possible:

  • The renewal email reminder you received, which will contain:
    • Your license number; and
    • The 6-digit renewal ID number
  • A credit card or debit card
  • Your email address

If you did not receive a renewal notice, you can still complete your online renewal using the last 4 digits of your social security number, your license number, and your date of birth.

How will I know when my license is renewed? 
Once you have successfully completed the renewal process, your renewed license can be immediately obtained using the state’s Agent/Agency Locator.

What if my license renewal is late?
If you do not renew your license by your license expiration date, you will have a one month late period to submit an application. Any continuing education requirements must be satisfied. You will be required to pay a late fee. During this one month late period, your license will remain active. 

However, if your license is not renewed during that one month late period, your license will be suspended and all company appointments will be terminated. 

If your license was suspended for non-renewal, your license can be reinstated within 1 year of the original license expiration date. Reinstatement can be obtained by completing all CE requirements, submitting a renewal application, and paying all applicable fees. If the license is not reinstated within a year, you will be required to go through the agent licensing process as a new agent.

For additional information on late renewals, consult the Ohio Department of Insurance.
 

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.



  • © 2022 A.D. Banker & Company