License Requirements

How to Renew a Connecticut Insurance License

How to Renew a Connecticut Insurance License

Connecticut Updates

10/1/21:  The Connecticut Department of Insurance makes several changes in their CE rules.  Connecticut will also be converting to State Based Systems (SBS) effective 11/9/2021.

Connecticut Insurance Department

Helpful Links

ph: (860) 297-3845

fax: (860) 297-3978



Find your license number

Print your license

View your CE transcript

File a renewal application

A.D. Banker Provider #: 11173

1. Review the State Requirements

In order to renew your insurance license, you must complete the required continuing education hours for the lines of insurance that you are licensed in. All of the hours must be completed and reported prior to your license renewal date to avoid a lapse in your license.


Total Hours

24 hours biennially for Producers

Compliance Renewal Date

Renewal date is the last day of the licensee's birth month, biennially.

You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.


CE Course Category Restrictions - Effective 10/01/2021 - Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.

For All Licenses:

Laws/Regulations/Ethics (LRE)
3 hrs - Producers must complete 3 hrs of LRE as part of the total requirement.

For Life & Health Producers:

Annuity Suitability - Valid until Annuity Best Interest Training becomes Effective 3/1/2022
4 hrs - Producers must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products.

Annuity Best Interest Training Requirements Effective 3/1/2022

1 hr - Resident and non-resident producers already licensed and certified to sell annuity products in Connecticut prior to 3/1/2022 must complete an additional 1-hour annuity best interest training no later than August 31, 2022. A.D. Banker & Company will offer this training in CT online, as well as via live webinar. Note: The new 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest course (online or webinar) will also satisfiy the required 1-hour of update content training. Annuity Best Interest Training courses completed in any other state based on the NAIC 2020 Annuity Model Law updates will reciprocate with the Connecticut requirement.

4 hrs - Resident and non-resident producers licensed on or after 3/1/2022, must complete a one-time 4-Hour Annuity Best Interest Certification Training course before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity business in Connecticut.

Life Settlement Broker
15 hrs - Resident individuals holding a Life Settlement Brokers license must complete 15 hours of CE in Life/Health category every 2 years by 3/31.  Licenses renew 3/31 of each year. (Resident individuals who hold a Life Producer license are exempt from the 15 hr Life Settlement CE requirement.)

Long-Term Care

Long-Term Care (LTC) Certification Training is available to Accident and Health producers who have a valid license in Connecticut. The Long-Term Care Partnership Certification Training is required for both resident and non-resident producers who wish to market Partnership-approved policies.  For complete requirements and details click here.

For Property & Casualty Producers:

3 hrs - Property/Casualty or Personal Lines producers must complete a one-time 3-hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training for their first license renewal compliance period.  Effective 10/01/2021 - There is no longer a CE Flood Requirement.

There are also additional rules about how the course hours can be applied.


Carryover hours are not allowed.


Courses may not be taken more than once in a reporting period.

If you meet any of criteria below, you may be exempt from the continuing education requirements.


  • Nonresidents
  • Adjusters
  • Producers who only hold a limited line of authority (Credit and Travel Accident/Baggage or Surety Bail Bond)

2. Register for and Complete Courses

Once you have determined the renewal requirements for your license, you can register for courses. Each course has an associated credit type; when registering for courses, select courses with credit types that will help to fulfill the renewal requirements for your license.

A.D. Banker offers classroom, webinar, online, and self study courses for Connecticut. You can register for courses under the Continuing Education menu at

You must fulfill the course requirements for each of the courses to have them reported.

  • Classroom and webinar course completions are based off of attendance and participation and do not require a completion exam. You must be present for the full duration of the course and be active and attentive throughout to receive credit.
  • Online and Self Study courses are self-paced. You must review the course material and pass the Certification Exam at the end to receive credit.*


*Online and self study exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party (a person with no family or financial relationship).


Once a course has been completed, the completion must be reported to the state. A.D. Banker will report the course completions to SBS.

3. File a Renewal Application

Once you have satisfied the renewal requirements for your license, you can file a renewal application at

Continuing Education Webinars: Live online "classroom" courses... NO EXAMS!

A.D. Banker & Company provides licensing information as a courtesy to our students. While reasonable attempts have been made to ensure the accuracy of this information, licensees are ultimately responsible for ensuring that they are in compliance with the requirements set forth by their state licensing entity. A.D. Banker & Company offers no guarantee of the accuracy of this information and will not be held liable in case of noncompliance with the license requirements.